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MARYLAND’S LEAD LAW 
What You Need to Know 

SUMMARY OF COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS FOR PRE-1978 RENTAL PROPERTIES  

Title 6, Subtitle 8, of the Environment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, and (“Act”) was enacted to 

reduce the incidence of lead poisoning while maintaining affordable rental housing. The Maryland 

Department of the Environment (MDE) was given the authority to enforce the provisions of the Act. 

Compliance is mandatory for rental dwelling units built prior to 1978, regardless of renovation history.  

COMPLIANCE REQUIRES THE FOLLOWING: 

 1. REGISTRATION WITH MDE Owner must register all rental dwelling units within 30 days of acquisition 

and renewed on or before December 31 each year. Registration includes the payment of $30 per rental 

dwelling unit.  

2. DISTRIBUTION OF TENANT EDUCATIONAL INFORMATION All tenants must be provided with the 

“Notice of Tenants Rights,” and “Protect Your Family from Lead in Your Home” brochures and a copy of 

the current inspection certificate upon inception of the tenancy and every two years thereafter.  

3. MEET THE RISK REDUCTION STANDARD All rental properties subject to the Act are required to be lead 

inspected by a MDE accredited lead paint inspector upon the occurrence of certain triggering events. An 

owner must 

a. Meet the Full Risk Reduction Standard at every change in occupancy  

b. Meet the Modified Risk Reduction Standard Upon Notice 1. Within 30 days of being notified a 

person at risk (pregnant woman or child under 6 years of age) has a blood lead level of 5 

micrograms per deciliter or more and an Environmental Investigation has identified defects or 

within 30 days after receipt of a written notice from the tenant, or from any other source, of the 

presence of defects in the unit.  

4. PASS VISUAL AND LEAD DUST INSPECTION All properties subject to the Act are required to pass an 

inspection for lead contaminated dust, performed by an MDE accredited inspection contractor, To pass 

the inspection, the property must be free of defective paint on the interior and exterior of the property. 

5.  USE TRAINED WORKERS, ACCREDITED SUPERVISORS AND CONTRACTORS. All work performed to 

meet a risk reduction standard must be performed by persons/companies who have been trained 

and/or accredited by MDE.  

6. CERTAIN PROPERTIES MAY BE EXEMPT FROM THE ACT IF  

   a. The property is a hotel, motel or similar seasonal or transient facility; or  
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b. The property has been lead paint tested by a MDE-accredited inspector and has issued a 

“Lead Free” or “Limited Lead Free” certificate. Any report submitted to the Department 

certifying a unit as “Lead Free” or “Limited Lead Free” shall include a processing fee of $10 per 

unit.  

 

For more information on Rental Registration please visit the Rental Registration Page or call 410-537-

4199 or toll free in Maryland 1-800-776-2706. For more information on Compliance please visit the Lead 

Program's Rental Owner Page or call (410) 537-3825 or toll free in Maryland 1-800-633-6101, Ext.  




